Conference Unveils 2018 Baseball Awards & Recognitions

Conference Unveils 2018 Baseball Awards & Recognitions

By Kyle Kuhlman/OCCAC Sports Information

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio – Individual postseason awards for the 2018 OCCAC baseball campaign have been announced with 23 student-athletes earning all-conference honors. Yearly accolades were named as well. Sinclair’s Kyle Ruehlman and Steve Dintaman earned OCCAC Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, while Luke Baranchak of Mercyhurst North East corralled the league’s Player of the Year hardware.

A pair of Tartans in Jeremiah Clarke and Alex Jacobs share co-Freshman of the Year distinction.

Coach of the Year | Steve Dintaman (Sinclair)
Player of the Year | Luke Baranchak (Mercyhurst North East)
Pitcher of the Year | Kyle Ruehlman (Sinclair)
co-Freshman of the Year | Jeremiah Clarke (Sinclair) and Alex Jacobs (Sinclair)

Sinclair C.C.
Jeremiah Clarke | OF
Sean Darmafall | OF
Brandon Henson | OF
Alex Jacobs | INF
Kyle Ruehlman | P

Cuyahoga C.C.
Brock Begue | P
Lucas DiLuca | INF

Mercyhurst University North East
Luke Baranchak | INF
Jack Tumulty | P

Clark State C.C.
Vicente Castro | C

Lakeland C.C.
Matt Detering | INF

Cuyahoga C.C.
Jeremy Chambers | OF
Brody McGrath | INF
Doug Smith | P

Clark State C.C.
Christian Rivera | INF
Jevin Williams | OF

Edison State C.C.
Jake Clements | C
Marcus Johnson | P

Mercyhurst University North East
Aaron Pawlak | OF
Jason Swope | INF

Sinclair C.C.
Sami Mehmed | INF
AJ Peter | P

Lakeland C.C.
Jacob Nagy | C

Brock Begue (Cuyahoga)
Vicente Castro (Clark State)
Jeremiah Clarke (Sinclair)
Matt Detering (Lakeland)
Lucas DiLuca (Cuyahoga)
Alex Jacobs (Sinclair)